Frequently Asked Questions
Here are the most common questions we see come across our communities. This FAQ will be an evolving document that will be periodically updated to help the public stay apprised and informed about all things medical cannabis. To that effect, please feel free to contact us with any important questions you think we missed and we’ll be happy to add them. Before you leave, don’t forget to join our groups!
Generally, the process can take about 10 days for the state to review your application and process your payment. One tip to also make sure is to mark your calendar in advance when you have to renew your card to avoid the card expiring.
Looking for a certifiation or renewal? Visit our vetted friends at LeafWell!
For more information, visit the Florida Department of Health Office of Medical Marijuana Use (OMMU). For more information , join our Florida Medical Cannabis Community!
The short answer is yes. The longer one is, it depends on the state. If you are in another state that recognizes your card, you must abide by the regulations for that particular state including possession limits. Check out this resourceful guide to see which states allow cannabis, and from there call dispensaries near where you plan to visit to ensure they will accept your card.
It depends. Marijuana and certain cannabis-infused products, including some Cannabidiol (CBD) oil, remain illegal under federal law except for products that contain no more than 0.3 percent THC on a dry weight basis or that are approved by FDA, according to the Transporation and Security Administration.
Because cannabis is still a schedule 1 controlled substance, insurance companies do not yet cover the cost of cannabis expenses. Therefore, the cost of cannabis is generally paid out of pocket with cash or debit.
No. Wisconsin is not a cannabis legal state. DO NOT bring cannabis into the state of Wisconsin. In 2014, Wisconsin passed AB 726, which creates a legal right for patients with seizure disorders to possess and use CBD-rich medicines if they have a written recommendation, but the CBD cannot contain any amounts of THC, making access to this medicine relatively difficult.
Patients and consumers at dispensaries tend to change or visit multiple locations for a number of reasons. These reasons include pricing, distance, convenience, promotions, staff environment and recommendations, management culture, educational expertise, retail experiences, and more. In short, people tend to go where they are treated well and left with a remarkable experience every time.
The short answer is no. While many patients take the risk and do so anyway, it is considered a federal crime to transport any amount of cannabis over state lines. Although some licenses may accept out of state medical cards, it is best to just purchase in the legal state you are in. We recommend calling the dispensary you anticipate on visiting beforehand to ensure they accept your cards to confirm your ability to purchase so you do not waste your time.
There are numerous ways to use cannabis. You can smoke or vaporize it. You can eat it. There are tinctures and oils you can use sublingually. There are pills and suppositories as well as transdermal applications such as lotions and patches.
Both THC and CBD start off as THCA and CBDA respectively. In order for THC and CBD to have the effects they’re known for these chemicals must go through decarboxylation which happens when they are heated either through smoking, vaporizing or cooking. This is why eating raw cannabis will not get you “High.”
Short for cannabidiol, CBD is generally the second most prevalent chemical in cannabis (although in a number of strains is the most prevalent.) It is most notably used for treating seizures and does not give you a “High” feeling.
THC, or tetrahydrocannabinol, is generally the most prevalent of the many chemicals cannabis is composed of. It is used for symptoms such as nausea and pain and is associated with the “High” people feel using cannabis.
You’ll need both your medical cannabis card AND a state ID or Driver’s license. Many dispensaries will have an information form to fill out, similar to when going to a new doctor. After that, you’ll be able to pick what you want. The first time can be a little nerve-wracking but realize most everyone there is an advocate and/or patient themselves.
Depending on the state you live in, you may be allowed to cultivate any given number of plants designated by the state law. Some states require you to be a patient, while others have rules around where and how much you can grow. To learn how to grow, check out our blog on growing cannabis indoors.
Should I be worried about the legal status of cannabis at the federal level, even though my state has legalized it?
As long as you are following all state laws, currently the Blumenauer-Norton-McClintock Amendment protects you from federal interference.
Certain states have reciprocity, but most do not. With laws changing all the time and most dispensaries having discretion as to whether to allow reciprocity or not, you should contact the dispensary you plan on visiting before you visit.
No. At this time, since cannabis is not an FDA approved drug, no insurer will cover the cost. That said there is one cannabis-derived, and one synthetic cannabinoid drug on the market certain insurers can cover. Epidiolex™ is a cannabis-derived CBD based drug approved for Dravet syndrome and Lennox-Gastaut syndrome. And Marinol™ is a synthetic THC drug approved for nausea and vomiting.
First – we are not doctors. Second. You should speak to your doctor and anesthesiologist. Third, according to hundreds of members, many have reportedly consumed cannabis, prior, and some even up to surgery, without any reported issues at all. Reuters reports cannabis users needing more anesthesia for surgery but further research is needed.
Depending on the type of products you have, gummies may generally have anywhere from 5 to 10 milligrams of THC per piece. We always advise starting low and going slow. It is better you do not consume enough and have little to no effects vs consuming too much and having an intense experience. Always start with one dose, wait an hour, or more, and then try again. Do not consume too much in a small span of time, as it takes your liver a while to fully process the cannabinoids.
For starters, it starts with having a conversation with others about cannabis. If you would like to help us advocate, for starters, we welcome you to update your Facebook or LinkedIn profile to *Advocate*, and tag our Facebook or LinkedIn page. Second, help invite more people to our community by sending them to our group! If you would like to check out our accessories shop to view T-shirts, buttons, or other items that can make it easier to advocate for cannabis.
CBD, whether derived from cannabis or hemp, is the same molecule of the same species, differentiated only for legal purposes to consider products with under .3% THC to be considered hemp.
Many consumers tend to use mason jars, vacuum sealed bags, hydration packets (such as Boveda Packs). For long term storage, consumers tend to refrigerate their sealed products.
Often times, cost savings are afforded to patients vs adult use consumers who pay higher taxes for some of the same products. Some states allow for access to stronger medicines, a larger variety of product selections, or even the ability to cultivate a certain number of plants allowed by the laws.
Yes and No. Although one is entitled to their privacy, for security purposes, it is normal to be asked to search your purse or bag before entering a dispensary. Many places prohibit firearms, and in various states, by law, consumers may not be allowed to enter the premises if in posession of products.
When you’re buying CBD isolate products, check the maker’s website to verify that independent testing has been done in a third-party lab to ensure they’re free of THC, as well as heavy metals and other toxins. THC has been removed from broad-spectrum products, and you should technically be in the clear with these.
Unfortunately, there isn’t a guaranteed way to do this without ceasing consumption. Exercising, drinking lots of water, and taking supplements may help, but are never guaranteed. Some people may resort to synthetic solutions, but these are illegal and highly discouraged. For best results, cease consumption 30-45 days before having to test.
Short answer is they will be able to shop at certain dispensaries that are licensed for both medical and rec. And they will pay medical prices there.
But if they lose their card, or go to a rec dispensary only, then they will only be able to purchase as a rec consumer, which comes with the additional taxes. Hope that helps!
You should receive a form from the state about 45 days from the expiration date. If you are seeking a renewal or extension to a current registry identification card and have received a letter from IDPH, you need to complete the online renewal application. Paper applications will not be accepted. To renew and file for an extension, visit the IDPH home portal, log in and begin your application.
In Illinois, background checks and fingerprints are no longer required. Therefore, if someone wants to apply for the program, whether as a patient, or caregiver, they would be able to qualify, regardless of the previous drug felony conviction. Here is more information on how to apply for a card in Illinois.
Can a dispensing organization submit a change of ownership for an Early Approval Adult Use Dispensing Organization License once the license is issued?
A dispensing organization may submit a change of ownership request to the Department after the license is issued. However, the ownership structure of the medical cannabis dispensing organization must remain identical to the ownership structure of the adult use dispensing organization. If a principal officer is added to Early Approval Adult Use Dispensing Organization License, the principal officer would also have to be added to the medical cannabis dispensing organization.
Because the Early Approval Adult Use Dispensing Organization License at a second site must be held by an identical ownership structure as the medical cannabis dispensing organization, the second site license cannot be sold separate from the underlying Medical Dispensing Organization License. For more, check out our guide on cannabis dispensary licenses.
Can an adult use dispensing organization agent serve medical cannabis patients at a medical cannabis dispensary if the medical cannabis dispensary does not have a license to sell adult use cannabis at the same site?
No. The definition of “dispensing organization” in the Cannabis Regulation and Tax Act only includes dispensing organizations with Same Site or adult use dispensing organization licenses. The definition does not include medical cannabis dispensing organizations that have not obtained a Same Site license. Because a medical cannabis dispensing organization without a Same Site license is not a “dispensing organization” under the Cannabis Regulation and Tax Act, Section 15-40(h) does not authorize the licensing of any individuals to work at a medical cannabis dispensing organization. To discover more, read our guide on how to apply for a dispensary in Illinois.
Only if the Secondary Site is owned by the same entity as the medical cannabis dispensing organization at which the agent works. Section 15-40(h) provides, “[a] dispensing organization agent shall only be required to hold one card for the same employer regardless of what type of dispensing organization license the employer holds.”
Can the agents in my medical dispensing organization serve non-medical purchasers at the Same Site?
Yes, agents with medical cannabis dispensary agent identification cards can serve purchasers at an Early Approval Adult Use Dispensing Organization License location at the same site as the medical cannabis dispensary.
Cannabis Cultivation Centers are not permitted to sell cannabis intended for resale to purchasers until December 1, 2019.
If, after 360 days from the effective date of the Cannabis Regulation and Tax Act have, a Medical Cannabis Dispensing Organization is unable to find a location for its Early Approval Adult Use Dispensing Organization License because no jurisdiction in its prescribed geographic has zoning laws that permit the sale of cannabis to purchasers, the Medical Cannabis Dispensing Organization may e-mail the Deputy Director of the Medical Cannabis Unit at the Department of Financial and Professional Regulation to request permission to locate in another area. For more information, read our blog on how to apply for a cannabis dispensary license in Illinois!
An Early Approval Adult Use Dispensing Organization License at a second site may be placed in any BLS Region that intersects with the medical cannabis dispensary’s Dispensing Organization District. The property line of an Early Approval Adult Use Dispensing Organization must be at least 1,500 feet from the property line of another Early Approval Adult Use Dispensing Organization or Adult Use Dispensing Organization. Medical dispensaries in Dispensing Organization Districts in Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Grundy, Kendall, Kane, Lake, McHenry, and Will counties may locate their second site anywhere within those counties. Medical dispensaries in Illinois State Police District 1 may locate their second site in the following counties: Bureau, Carroll, Jo Daviess, La Salle, Lee, Ogle, Putnam, Stephenson, and Whiteside.
1 “Disproportionately Impacted Area” means a census tract or comparable geographic area that:
(1) Meets one of the following criteria:
• The area has a poverty rate of at least 20%;
• 75% or more of the children in the area participate in the federal free lunch program;
• At least 20% of the households in the area receive assistance under the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program; or
• The area has an average unemployment rate that is more than 120% of the national average for a period of at least 2 consecutive calendar years preceding the date of the application; and (2) Has high rates of arrest, conviction, and incarceration related to the sale, possession, use, cultivation, manufacture, or transport of cannabis. Medical dispensaries in Illinois State Police District 6 may locate their second site in the following counties:
Adams, Brown, Cass, Christian, DeWitt, Fulton, Greene, Hancock, Henderson, Knox, Livingston, Logan, Mason, McDonough, McLean, Montgomery, Morgan, Moultrie, Pike, Scott, Schuyler, Shelby, and Warren.
Medical dispensaries in Illinois State Police District 7 may locate their second site in the following counties: Adams, Brown, Cass, Christian, DeWitt, Fulton, Greene, Hancock, Henderson, Henry, Knox, Livingston, Logan, Mason, Mercer, McDonough, McLean, Montgomery, Morgan, Moultrie, Pike, Rock Island, Scott, Schuyler, Shelby, and Warren
Medical dispensaries in Illinois State Police District 8 may locate their second site in the following counties: Marshall, Peoria, Stark, Tazewell, and Woodford.
Medical dispensaries in Illinois State Police District 9 may locate their second site in the following counties: Adams, Brown, Cass, Christian, Fulton, Greene, Hancock, Henderson, Knox, Livingston, Logan, Mason, McDonough, Menard, Montgomery, Morgan, Moultrie, Pike, Sangamon Scott, Schuyler, Shelby, and Warren.
Medical dispensaries in Illinois State Police District 10 may locate their second site in the following counties: Adams, Brown, Cass, Champaign, Christian, Clark, Clay, Coles, Crawford, Cumberland, Douglas, Edgar, Effingham, Fayette, Ford, Fulton, Greene, Hancock, Henderson, Iroquois, Jasper, Knox, Marion, Lawrence, Livingston, Logan, Macon, Mason, McDonough, Montgomery, Morgan, Moultrie, Piatt, Pike, Richland, Scott, Schuyler, Shelby, Vermillion, and Warren.
Medical dispensaries in Illinois State Police District 11 may locate their second site in the following counties: Bond, Calhoun, Clinton, Jersey, Macoupin, Madison, Monroe, and St. Clair.
Medical dispensaries in Illinois State Police District 12 may locate their second site in the following counties: Clark, Clay, Coles, Crawford, Cumberland, Douglas, Edgar, Effingham, Fayette, Iroquois, Jasper, Marion, Lawrence, and Richland.
Medical dispensaries in Illinois State Police District 13 may locate their second site in the following counties: Edwards, Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Massac, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Randolph, Saline, Union, Wabash, Wayne, Washington, White, and Williamson.
Medical dispensaries in Illinois State Police District 14 may locate their second site in the following counties: Adams, Brown, Cass, Christian, Fulton, Greene, Hancock, Henderson, Knox, Livingston, Logan, Mason, McDonough, Montgomery, Morgan, Moultrie, Pike, Scott, Schuyler, Shelby, and Warren.
Medical dispensaries in Illinois State Police District 16 may locate their second site in the following counties: Boone, Bureau, Carroll, Jo Daviess, La Salle, Lee, Ogle, Putnam, Stephenson, Whiteside, and Winnebago.
Medical dispensaries in Illinois State Police District 17 may locate their second site in the following counties: Bureau, Carroll, Jo Daviess, La Salle, Lee, Ogle, Putnam, Stephenson, and Whiteside.
Medical dispensaries in Illinois State Police District 18 may locate their second site in the following counties: Adams, Bond, Brown, Calhoun, Cass, Christian, Clinton, Fulton, Greene, Hancock, Henderson, Jersey, Knox, Livingston, Logan, Macoupin, Madison, Mason, McDonough, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Moultrie, Pike, Scott, Schuyler, Shelby, St. Clair, and Warren.
Medical dispensaries in Illinois State Police District 19 may locate their second site in the following counties: Edwards, Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Jefferson, Johnson, Massac, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Randolph, Saline, Union, Wabash, Wayne, Washington, and White.
Medical dispensaries in Illinois State Police District 20 may locate their second site in the following counties: Adams, Brown, Cass, Christian, Fulton, Greene, Hancock, Henderson, Knox, Livingston, Logan, Mason, McDonough, Montgomery, Morgan, Moultrie, Pike, Scott, Schuyler, Shelby, and Warren.
Medical dispensaries in Illinois State Police District 21 may locate their second site in the following counties: Champaign, Ford, Iroquois, Kankakee, Piatt, Medical dispensaries in Illinois State Police District 22 may locate their second site in the following counties: Alexander, Edwards, Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Jefferson, Johnson, Massac, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Randolph, Saline, Union, Wabash, Wayne, Washington, and White.
Can I change the Social Equity Inclusion Plan I chose in my application for a Same or Secondary Site?
Yes, all application materials can be amended with Department approval. You may submit a request to amend your application materials at any time before your renewal.
The Cannabis Regulation and Tax Act requires Early Approval Adult Use License holders to complete a Social Equity Inclusion Plan before they can renew the license in March of 2021. There are five options for a license holder:
1) Contribution of 3% of total sales from June 1, 2018 to June 1, 2019 or $100,000, whichever is less, to the Cannabis Business Development Fund;
2) Contribution of 3% of total sales from June 1, 2018 to June 1, 2019 or $100,000, whichever is less, to a cannabis industry training or education program at an Illinois community college as defined in the Public Community College Act;
3) Donation of $100,000 or more to a program that provides job training services to persons recently incarcerated or that operates in a Disproportionately Impacted Area1 ;
4) Participation as a host in a cannabis business establishment incubator program approved by the Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity, and in which the dispensing organization agrees to provide a loan of at least $100,000 and mentorship to incubate a licensee that qualifies as a Social Equity Applicant for at least a year; or
5) Participation in a sponsorship program for at least 2 years approved by the Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity in which the dispensing organization agrees to provide an interest-free loan of at least $200,000 to a Social Equity Applicant. If a license holder selects options 4 or 5, the Department of Financial and Professional Regulation will ensure the license holder is currently engaged in the Social Equity Inclusion Plan at the time of the renewal. If, at the time of renewal, a license holder who selected option 4 or 5 and who has not begun complying with either Plan, may make a contribution as allowed by options 1 through 3 to qualify for a renewal. To discover more, read out guide on how to apply for a dispensary license in Illinois.
The registration fee and Cannabis Business Development Fee must be in the form of two separate cashier’s checks or money orders only, made payable to “Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation.” For more info, check out our blog post on what you need to apply for a cannabis dispensary license in the state of Illinois.
The fees for an Early Approval Adult Use Dispensing Organization License at a same site are a $30,000 non-refundable registration fee and a Cannabis Business Development Fee of the lesser of (1) $100,000 or (2) 3% of total sales of cannabis and non-cannabis items between June 1, 2018 and June 1, 2019 for the medical cannabis dispensary. Applicants will also select a Social Equity Inclusion Plan to complete prior to renewing its Early Approval Adult Use Dispensing Organization License, which may include a fee.
The fees for an Early Approval Adult Use Dispensing Organization License at a secondary site are a $30,000 registration non-refundable fee and a $200,000 Cannabis Business Development Fee. Applicants will also select a Social Equity Inclusion Plan to complete prior to renewing its Early Approval Adult Use Dispensing Organization License, which may include a fee. For more information, see our article on how you can apply for a dispensary license in Illinois.
Secondary Site licenses may be granted as late as March 31, 2021, but applications must be submitted to the Department on a timeline that gives the Department a reasonable amount of time to review the application and perform an inspection of the site. For more information, see our blog article on how to apply for a cannabis dispensary license in Illinois.
The map shows the Disproportionately Impacted Areas in blue. To determine if an address is located in a Disproportionately Impacted Area, click here and type the address in the search bar.
Yes. Well, sort of. For medical patients, the law will allow for real-time dispensary changes. However the state has not announced when exactly it will allow this. For adult-use consumers, they will be able to visit dispensaries who have been granted the ability to sell to recreational consumers. In addition, the new dispensaries set to open will be adult use-only. No more medical cannabis dispensary licenses are expected to be given, with the exception of the last 5 remaining medical licenses that did not previously open.
While doctors at the VA are currently not allowed to certify you for your card, because of federal laws, you can still get your card. In most states veterans being seen at the VA must pay to see a civilian doctor, but luckily Illinois has addressed that issue. In Illinois, you simply need to forward your “Blue Button report” found on myhealth.va.gov, with your diagnosis of your qualifying condition. No Doctor needed!
The OAP is a separate program from Illinois MCP. This allows patients that deal with any condition, that currently requires or may require under current medical standards the use of opiates, temporary (3 months) access to Illinois Medical Cannabis Program.
The application fee to the state costs $100 for one year or $250 for 3 years upfront. If you are a veteran or on SSDI you qualify for half of that fee. The cost of seeing a doctor can vary widely. If your regular doctor is on board, great! It will only cost you your regular co-pay. If not your next option is going to a clinic that specializes in cannabis certifications which can vary widely depending on the clinic. On average these costs can range from 200 to 600 dollars. You can learn more here.
Unfortunately, the answer is no in Illinois. It is still up to your employer whether they perform such tests. That said if a company does not have a policy for pre-employment drug tests, they may not single you out based on the fact that you have a card. However, the debate on drug tests involves a whole lot more.
The standard allotment is a rolling 2.5 ounces per 2 weeks. Example: If I purchase one ounce on January 1st and a half ounce on January 5th your allotment would be at one ounce. On January 15th you will have the one-ounce returned to your allotment bringing it to two ounces and on January 19th you’ll receive that half-ounce back bringing you back to 2.5 ounces total.
If you lose your card you won’t be able to get into your dispensary. To get a new one sent you will need to fill out a form and pay $25. More Info: bit.ly/lostcannacard
Yes. In Illinois, there is a 1% state tax and then local municipalities can levy up to a 1.5% tax. So anywhere from 1-2.5% depending on where your dispensary is located. Most Dispensaries roll It into the regular price, so you don’t have to account for it when budgeting your purchase.
Yes. Illinois requires you to be registered with one dispensary, but you can request a change by emailing [email protected] with your information (including QP #) and the information of the dispensary you want to switch to.
IDPH should email you back within 24-48 hours confirming your change. More detailed instructions here bit.ly/Dispochange. This process will no longer be needed relatively soon, thanks to new laws.
My Doctor/Clinic has requested I come in for a yearly visit, but my card is valid for 3 years. Do I need to go?
While the law does not specify a time in which you must see a doctor, a Bona Fide relationship is a requirement. Meaning a doctor or clinic has the discretion of how often they must see you in order to maintain that “Bona Fide” relationship. The law also allows your doctor/clinic to contact IDPH to have a card revoked, in the case a “Bona Fide” relationship is not kept.
Yes. Currently, products must be sealed and out of reach of the driver. In other words, treat it as an opened bottle of alcohol.
In Illinois, the law requires use to be out of public view. Unfortunately, that means the only places you can use are at your home, or a friend/family member’s home with their permission. Luckily with Illinois’ new Adult-Use law public-use establishments should start popping up across the state relatively soon.
There was once a time when everyone in Illinois had to wait 90-120 days before being able to make a purchase with their card! Luckily those days are behind us! After you apply and pay successfully.
Will it be Cheaper for Medical Cannabis Patients to Purchase Their Medicine than the Adult Use Recreational Market?
Technically, yes, medical patients will pay less overall due to lower taxes on their medicine. The difference is estimated to be 30 percent or more in the cost of the same product between the medical and rec sides of the same dispensary. In the rec program, higher THC content will be taxed at a greater rate. The same is not true for medical patients registered with the state.
Will the Medical Cannabis Program in IL Have Different THC Limits Than the Adult Use Recreational Market?
Yes. While the adult-use rec program will have THC limits set by a state agency, the THC in medical cannabis will continue to be driven by medical need rather than government limits
Legal cannabis sales are expected to begin on January 1st of the New Year in Illinois. Poised to become the second largest market in the country, the Cannabis Regulation and Tax Act legally permit the sale and consumption of cannabis by anyone 21 years or older in private homes and businesses.
You are legally allowed to grow your own medicine (up to 5 plants) at home with your medical cannabis card. It is well known that the issue of home growing cannabis for personal use was a contentious one when trying to get this bill passed. Luckily, medical cannabis patients are legally allowed to grow up to five cannabis plants at home for personal use without fear of prosecution
We are glad you asked! The state of IL recently passed a bill making the medical cannabis program a permanent fixture of the states healthcare system and legislation. As such, the word “pilot” has been removed, as the program is no longer operating under a sunset clause and has been approved to stay for good!
If applying at the same time as the patient, the cards will be received almost in the range of 70-110 days it takes to process an application. If submitting after the patient as registered, it typically takes 3-4 weeks according to reports from patients in our communities.
To change your name, address or other pertinent information on your card, download the application on the State website and submit the associated fees.
Patients in Illinois can purchase up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis products every 14 day period, starting from the first day of purchase.
For email, just copy and paste the following message, and fill in your name and other information in parentheses.
“Subject Line: Status Inquiry for (insert patient and/or caregiver first and last name and date of birth)
Body of email to IDPH as follows:
To Whom It May Concern:
I am inquiring about the status of my application submitted on or around (insert date of application). I can be reached at (your email address and telephone number).
Patient Name (insert your name or name of patient you are inquiring about)
Switching dispensaries simply requires you to fill out this form, and emailing it to [email protected]
Alternatively, you can fill out the form, and contact the dispensary you want to switch to for further assistance. Always be sure to call the dispensary you want to switch in advance to ensure they have what you need or are looking for, and to verify that you are registered in their system before visiting.
As of recently, with provisional access available, patients in Illinois are able to obtain access to medical cannabis in as little as two weeks depending on their application. See more info here.
Patients can expect to receive their cards in as little as 2 weeks.
Patients can expect to receive their cards in as little as 2 weeks.
Unfortunately, no. New York does not accept medical cannabis cards from other states.
Registered Organizations may dispense up to a 30-day supply of medical marijuana to a certified patient or designated caregiver, pursuant to any recommendations or limitations made by the practitioner on the certification. Registered Organizations report their medical marijuana dispensing to the New York State Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP) database, so that prescribers may review their patients’ controlled substance histories and make informed treatment decisions.
Upon successful registration with the online system, your card should arrive in the mail within 7 business days.
Residents of Pennsylvania can obtain a medical cannabis card in as little as 3 days.